By Sarah Lane
May 28, 2004, 12:41


Topic: Asia

ClassBrain Visitor:

How many countries are in asia?

ClassBrain Response:

The land boundary between Europe and Asia has never been officially designated. There are many different viewpoints concerning the border, which creates inconsistencies in a complete country count.

The most common way to divide up and identify all Asian countries is listed below:

East Asia: China, Hong Kong S.A.R., Japan, Mongolia, North Korea, South Korea, Taiwan

South Asia: Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka

Central Asia: Afghanistan, Iran, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan

Southeast Asia: Brunei, Cambodia, East Timor, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam

AustraAsia: Australia, New Zealand, **Pacific Island Countries, Papua New Guinea

**The Pacific Island Countries include:
American Samoa, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Federated States of Midway Islands, Fiji, French Polynesia, Guam, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, New Caledonia, Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, Pitcairn Islands, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, & Vanuatu.

If you tallied these countries up you would get 53, but remember there is no definitive border around Asia.

If you need more information on Asia, the website Ask Asia is a great place to go.

If you need more information about the countries of the world, go to

Learn more about Asia with the help of Google

© Copyright 2003 by